Electronic Gadgets

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 21:40
ThreadID: 38509 Views:2477 Replies:10 FollowUps:11
The electronics sourcing show ends on Tuesday and I look forward to being home in Oz. There are so many new items on the market and it is hard work taking the time to inspect over 4000 booths and countless products. Our market is a bit backward when it comes to DC power and it is time for Australia to catch up.

The samples will start arriving over the next few weeks for testing and I look forward to sharing the outcome with the forum. I may ask for some of you out there to test a few of them as I would like some others input as well before our containers start arriving from December.

Please contact me if you would like to take part in any testing.

There will be items like the 2000w / 20 amp i-charger
A new 200amp battery isolator with alternator charge control and jump start override.
2 way UHF radio's.
LED strip lights, 12v Fluoros, DC Lights, plugs and sockets, switches, fridge monitors, battery monitors, fuel savers, battery protectors and full wiring harness kits complete for fridges and caravans. There will also be a full range of lugs and connectors and I found a great new marine grade quick splice for battery cable.

The list goes on and on.

P.S. Thank You, Frank for your financial backing.

Regards Derek.

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 21:50

Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 21:50
Can't wait Derek. I've been trawling a few sites looking for a battery monitor/guage but they are either boringly basic and next to useless, or hellishly expensive.

Also, when will your site be updated, as you mentioned a while back.

Muzz
AnswerID: 199185

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 21:58

Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 21:58
Busy with it now. The first 97 pages are loaded. 500 to go. Plus the new pay system will be working too.
FollowupID: 457998

Reply By: AdrianLR (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 22:24

Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 22:24
Derek,

Where was the show?

Look forward to the battery monitors and fridge monitor (happy to test samples - I built my own controller based on the Oatley Electronics kit so know where all of the wiring/connections go and can change/splice in bits if necessary. Pajero DiD GLS 06)

I'm in Melbourne

Adrian
AnswerID: 199191

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 22:43

Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 22:43
Thank You, I will be in contact when some of the samples arrive.
FollowupID: 458003

Follow Up By: acdc - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 23:12

Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 23:12
Electronics fair in Hong Kong..
FollowupID: 458011

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 01:04

Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 01:04
Sorry Hong Kong. Here is the link.

Hong Kong Electronics Fair 2006 (Autumn Edition)

FollowupID: 458019

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 08:40

Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 08:40
Sounds interesting Derek, I have an annoying Jaycar monitor that beeps at me for detecting the wrong voltage somehow. It is one of those that had clock in it for three weeks, but the thermometer works.........
FollowupID: 458036

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 19:17

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 19:17
G'day John,
I have one of those Jaycar units too. It's supposed to have a blue back-light, but that has a mind of it's own. The beeping gave me the chits so much that I took the unit apart and cut the 2 wires that lead to the small speaker.....problem solved. I also removed the batteries that ran the clock.
FollowupID: 458282

Reply By: Bilbo - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 00:08

Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 00:08
Derek,

I'm looking for small lights to go inside those "deep 'n dark" caravan cupboards. I would prefer these to have batteries in 'em as I don't want to run in new wiring - caravans are a nightmare to run in new wires.

Do you have anything that might fit the bill? LED, flouro or globe, small wattage, runs on say 2 AA batteries, flush fitting.

One thing I have found is that if you Google "12 volt lighting" or "RV lighting" you get heaps of sites from the USA & UK but damn near nothing in "Oz".

Bilbo
AnswerID: 199210

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 01:06

Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 01:06
Yes I know the ones. I don't have them yet. Bunnings had them last time I checked.

Around $10.00 for a touch type 3 LED battery powered unit.

FollowupID: 458020

Follow Up By: Member - Alanc - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 08:30

Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 08:30
Just confirming Dereks post , recently picked up two LED lights from Bunnings. Just under $10 from memory,battery operated, I fitted one in the front storage bin, it works well when searching for 'whatever" the other is just inside the door for use as a night light when you need to make a trip in the middle of the night and don't want to wake every one up by switching on the van light. Handy LED lights.
FollowupID: 458033

Reply By: Member - John - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 06:02

Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 06:02
Derek, "fuel savers", not a Fitch is it, LOL, Just wondering what sort of fuel saving device is 12VDC powered? John

AnswerID: 199221

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 11:40

Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 11:40
No, this is only for petrol models with sparkplugs.
FollowupID: 458063

Follow Up By: acdc - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 20:16

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 20:16
If it's those new fancy spark plugs I've already tried them they dont make any difference.
FollowupID: 458304

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 08:17

Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 08:17
Yer Derek, I will give the UHF's and battery monitors a burl on your bhalf, happy to oblige, email is behind the pic below

AnswerID: 199227

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 18:28

Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 18:28
Hey Derek

Put my name down I don't mind testing
AnswerID: 199297

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 18:36

Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 18:36
Me three Derek,,,,with a nice new patrol on the way,,,,i'll take any thing for a test if you like,,,
fridge monitor
battery monitor
dual batterysetup.
anderson plugs
wires

ohhh....the list can be as long as you like,,,,:):):)lol

meow

rick.
AnswerID: 199300

Reply By: Dave & Shelley (NT) - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 18:56

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 18:56
Hi mate,

Sound like you have a good way of making friends. I would be glad to help out in anyway but being in Darwin might limit that help. I would love to see a catalog though when you are finished with it.

AnswerID: 199430

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 21:52

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 21:52
Samples are on the way. Will be in-touch when they arrive. Thank you for all who are willing to help test some products.
AnswerID: 200277

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 20:38

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 20:38
Derek,

We use UHF's regularly for mustering. Wouldn't mind trying one or two, to see how they compare with GME's & Icoms.

AnswerID: 200383

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 20:42

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 20:42
Sure, I have just sent them the UHF 40 for the samples to be made up for Oz. I hope this is right.

Channels.

1 476.425 21 476.925

2 476.450 22 476.950

3 476.475 23 476.975

4 476.500 24 477.000

5 476.525 25 477.025

6 476.550 26 477.050

7 476.575 27 477.075

8 476.600 28 477.100

9 476.625 29 477.125

10 476.650 30 477.150

11 476.675 31 477.175